Interest groups

Interest Groups are the best way to get involved, share your expertise, and learn from others doing similar work.
To join an interest group, email the Chair-persons listed below.

To start a new interest group, email info@i-hla.org.

Health Literacy and Health Equity

Co-chairs: Marva Schodel
marva.schodel@merck.com
Monica Patton
MPatton01@jpshealth.org

Librarians Advancing Health Literacy

Chair: Terri Ottosen
ottosen@email.unc.edu

Improving Health Literacy using Information Technology (I-HeaLIT)

Chair: Sivan YS
yssivan@gmail.com

Child and Family Health Literacy

Chair: Sasha Fleary
Sasha.Fleary@tufts.edu

Health Literacy and Social Costs

Chair: Gerardine Doyle
gerardine.doyle@ucd.ie

Cancer Health Literacy

Chair: Loh Siew Yim
syloh@um.edu.my

Teaching Health Literacy in Medical / Health Professional Schools

Co-chairs: Dr. Shahzad Ali Khan
drshahzadhsa@gmail.com
Kelvin Ling
kling.cuhk@gmail.com 

International Health Literacy and Nursing

Chair: Carolyn Cutilli
carolyn.cutilli@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Health Literacy and Patient Safety

Chair: Margarida Eiras
margarida.eiras@estesl.ipl.pt

Environmental Health Literacy

Chair: Paras Pokharel
paras.pokharel@bpkihs.edu

Health Literacy and Sustainability

Chair: Kristine Sorensen
contact@globalhealthliteracyacademy.org

Health Literacy in Market Research

Chair: Bill Stone
Bill@sommerconsulting.com

Health Literacy and Primary Care

Co-chairs: Henna Riemenschneider
Henna.Riemenschneider@uniklinikum-dresden.de
Laura Sahm
L.Sahm@ucc.ie

Mental Health Literacy

Chair: Karo Noworyta
Karo.noworyta@gmail.com

Oral Health Literacy 

Chairs: Gerhard Seeberger
seeberger.gk@gmail.com

Health Literacy Research

Chair: Tetine Sentell
tsentell@hawaii.edu

Health Literacy Policy and Advocacy

Co-chairs: Mahesh Bhatt
mpmbhatt@gmail.com
Kyskie Bolton
kyskieb-rd@outlook.com

Health Literacy in Schools

Co-chairs: Orkan Okan
orkan.okan@uni-bielefeld.de
Leena Paakkari
leena.paakkari@jyu.fi
Kevin Dadaczynski
kevin.dadaczynski@pg.hs-fulda.de

Health Literacy and Health Behavior

Chair: Susanne Jordan
JordanS@rki.de

Nutrition Health Literacy

Co-chairs: Duong Van Tuyen
duongtuyenvna@gmail.com
Teresa Wagner
teresa.wagner@unthsc.edu 

Health Literacy Explorers (new to health literacy)

Chair: Tara Chen
tara.tchen@gmail.com

Migrant Health Literacy 

Chair: Stefanie Harsch
stefanie.harsch@ph-freiburg.de

Health Literacy for People with Intellectual Disabilities and Cognitive Impairment 

Chair: Dirk Bruland
dirk.bruland@@fh-bielefeld.de

Plain Language Equity

Co-chairs: Lorena Sprager
lsprager@gorge.net
Sabrina Kurtz-Rossi
sabrina.kurtz_rossi@tuft.edu

Plain Language Equity

Co-chairs: Loren Sprager
lsprager@gorge.net
Sabrina Kurtz-Rossi
sabrina.kurtz_rossi@tuft.edu

Health Literacy and Health Equity

Co-chairs: Marva Schodel
marva.schodel@merck.com
Monica Patton
MPatton01@jpshealth.org

Librarians Advancing Health Literacy

Chair: Terri Ottosen
ottosen@email.unc.edu

Improving Health Literacy using Information Technology (I-HeaLIT)

Chair: Sivan YS
yssivan@gmail.com

Child and Family Health Literacy

Chair: Sasha Fleary
Sasha.Fleary@tufts.edu

Health Literacy and Social Costs

Chair: Gerardine Doyle
gerardine.doyle@ucd.ie

Cancer Health Literacy

Chair: Loh Siew Yim
syloh@um.edu.my

Teaching Health Literacy in Medical / Health Professional Schools

Co-chairs: Dr. Shahzad Ali Khan
drshahzadhsa@gmail.com
Kelvin Ling
kling.cuhk@gmail.com 

International Health Literacy and Nursing

Chair: Carolyn Cutilli
carolyn.cutilli@pennmedicine.upenn.edu

Health Literacy and Patient Safety

Chairs: Margarida Eiras
margarida.eiras@estesl.ipl.pt

Environmental Health Literacy

Chair: Paras Pokharel
paras.pokharel@bpkihs.edu

Health Literacy and Sustainability

Chair: Kristine Sorensen
contact@globalhealthliteracyacademy.org

Health Literacy in Market Research

Chair: Bill Stone
Bill@sommerconsulting.com

Health Literacy and Primary Care

Co-chairs: Henna Riemenschneider
Henna.Riemenschneider@uniklinikum-dresden.de
Laura Sahm
L.Sahm@ucc.ie

Mental Health Literacy

Chair: Karo Noworyta
Karo.noworyta@gmail.com

Oral Health Literacy

Chairs: Gerhard Seeberger
seeberger.gk@gmail.com

Health Literacy Research

Chair: Tetine Sentell
tsentell@hawaii.edu

Health Literacy Policy and Advocacy

Co-chairs: Mahesh Bhatt
mpmbhatt@gmail.com
Kyskie Bolton
kyskieb-rd@outlook.com

Health Literacy in Schools

Co-chairs: Orkan Okan
orkan.okan@uni-bielefeld.de
Leena Paakkari
leena.paakkari@jyu.fi
Kevin Dadaczynski
kevin.dadaczynski@pg.hs-fulda.de

Health Literacy and Health Behavior

Chair: Susanne Jordan
JordanS@rki.de

Nutrition Health Literacy

Co-chairs: Duong Van Tuyen
duongtuyenvna@gmail.com
Teresa Wagner
teresa.wagner@unthsc.edu 

Health Literacy Explorers (new to health literacy)

Chair: Tara Chen
tara.tchen@gmail.com

Health Literacy for People with Intellectual Disabilities and Cognitive Impairment 

Chair: Dirk Bruland
dirk.bruland@@fh-bielefeld.de

Migrant Health Literacy 

Chair: Stefanie Harsch
stefanie.harsch@ph-freiburg.de